On the final day of the American Culinary Federation (ACF) 2010 National Convention held Aug. 2 to 5 in Anaheim, Calif., chefs, culinary industry professionals and foodservice establishments were honored for their contributions to the foodservice industry.

Among this year's notable chef winners were:
  • U.S. Chef of the Year, sponsored by Unilever Foodsolutions: Michael Matarazzo, executive chef, Bear Mountain Inn, Bear Mountain, N.Y.; ACF National Chapter
  • ACF National Pastry Chef of the Year, sponsored by Splenda: Andreas Proisl, executive pastry chef, Isleworth Country Club, Windermere, Fla.; ACF Central Florida
  • Chef Professionalism Award, sponsored by Minor’s: John Reed, CEC, CCA, owner, Customized Culinary Solutions, Skokie, Ill.; ACF Windy City Professional Culinarians Inc.
  • Hermann G. Rusch Chef's Achievement Award: Americo "Rico" DiFronzo, CEC, AAC, executive chef, American Food Systems, Inc., Burlington, Mass.; ACF Epicurean Club of Boston
For a complete list of awards and winners as well as a full recap of the 2010 ACF National Convention, visit www.acfchefs.org.