The James Beard Foundation on May 2 and 3 revealed the JBF 2010 Awards winners, honoring excellence among chefs, cookbook authors, food journalists, restaurant designers and others in the foodservice industry. In the restaurant and chef categories, the following professionals were honored for their contributions to the food and beverage industry:

Best New Restaurant
Marea, New York City

Outstanding Restaurant Award
Daniel, New York City

Outstanding Wine and Spirits Professional Award
John Shafer and Doug Shafer--Shafer Vineyards, Napa, Calif.

Outstanding Chef Award
Tom Colicchio--Craft Restaurants, New York City

Outstanding Restaurateur Award
Keith McNally--Balthazar, Lucky Strike, Minetta Tavern, Morandi, Pastis, Pravda and Schiller's Liquor Bar, New York City

Outstanding Wine Service Award
Jean Georges, New York City
Wine director: Bernard Sun

Outstanding Pastry Chef Award
Nicole Plue--Redd, Yountville, Calif.

Outstanding Service Award
Alinea, Chicago

Rising Star Chef of the Year Award
Timothy Hollingsworth, The French Laundry, Yountville

Best Chef: Great Lakes
Koren Grieveson--avec, Chicago

Best Chef: Northwest
Jason Wilson--Crush, Seattle

Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic
Jeff Michaud--Osteria, Philadelphia

Best Chef: Pacific
David Kinch--Manresa, Lost Gatos, Calif.

Best Chef: Midwest
Alexander Roberts--Restaurant Alma, Minneapolis

Best Chef: South
Michael Schwartz--Michael's Genuine Food & Drink, Miami

Best Chef: New York City
Daniel Humm, Eleven Madison Park

Best Chef: Southeast
Sean Brock--McGrady's, Charleston, S.C.

Best Chef: Northeast
Clark Frasier and Mark Gaier--Arrows, Ogunquit, Maine

Best Chef: Southwest
Claude Le Tohic--Joël Robuchon at MGM Grand Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas

Who's Who of Food & Beverage Inductees
  • Leah Chase, chef/owner of Dooky Chase Restaurant, New Orleans
  • Paul C. P. McIlhenny, president and CEO of McIlhenny Co., Avery Island, La.
  • L. Timothy Ryan, president of The Culinary Institute of America, Hyde Park, N.Y.
  • Jessica B. Harris, author and historian, New York City
  • David Rockwell, founder and CEO of Rockwell Group, New York City
  • Susan Spicer, chef/owner of Bayona, New Orleans
For a complete list of all the 2010 winners, visit